• IMRFAwards Dark Sky Jan18small
  • IMRFAwards ROR Jan18small
  • IMRF Awards Dark Heli Jan18small
  • IMRFAwards WWater Jan18small
  • IMRF Awards CRoom Jan18small

Media Gallery 2018

Media Gallery 2018

Photos and Videos of the Awards Ceremony 2018 Read More



Check Out the IMRF Awards Categories. Read More

The Finalist 2018

The Finalists 2018

Check out the 2018 Finalists Read More

About the IMRF Awards

About the IMRF Awards

The International Maritime Rescue Federation (IMRF) Awards aim to recognise some of the exceptional individuals and organisations around the world that make maritime search and rescue (SAR) possible.

The IMRF Awards (formerly known as the H.E.R.O. Awards) have proved a great success in the previous years, raising awareness of the excellent work done by those involved in the maritime SAR community, including highlighting innovative new SAR products and technologies.

We have four categories one can make a nomination in:

minilogoimrf3 Individual Award   - for outstanding individual contribution to a maritime SAR operation;
minilogoimrf3 Team Award – for outstanding team contribution to a maritime SAR operation;
minilogoimrf3 Innovation & Technology Award - for innovation and technology in maritime search and rescue;
minilogoimrf3 Lifetime Achievement Award – for outstanding contribution to maritime search and rescue ‘The Vladimir Maksimov Award'.

The Nomination form will be open in the near future. Watch this space ....

Roll of Honour for All Those Nominated for an IMRF H.E.R.O. Award 2017

Posted in IMRF Awards News -


Individual Award For Outstanding Individual Contribution to Maritime SAR
Mr Natan Brittz
Mr Alex Evans Captain Christian Trosvig
Mr Mohammed Drissi
Mr Magnus Hafslund
Mr Jeremy Watts
Mr Martin Hanell
Mr Anton Tasanen - Winner
Mr Ray Burge - Finalist
Captain Anubhav Srivastava
Mr Markus Friberg
Mr Joel Morgado

Team Award For Outstanding Team Contribution to Maritime SAR
Hong Kong Fire Services Department, Bote Salvavidas de Valparaiso
DA-BFAR MCS 3009 Canadian Coast Guard - Western Region
Rescuer Sveinung Tjessem and his Sea-King crew
NSRI WaterWise Academy - Finalist
SRU of Estonian Police and Border Guard Board motorboat M-15
Master and Crew of MTM TORTOLA
HM Coastguard Belfast
MOAS (Migrant Offshore Aid Station) - Winner

Innovation & Technology Award For Innovation and Technology in Maritime SAR
Mr Jako Vernik
RNLI Future Leaders Project Team 2016 - Winner
Cuerpo de Voluntarios de los Botes Salvavides de Valparaiso
8 West Consultancy /SafeTrx
ProteGear / GlobalSafe Track Systems Safety Services, Inmarsat Maritime
Weatherdock AG
MAR-SimNET Project - Finalist

The Vladimir Maksimov Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Maritime SAR Sector
ADES (Association of Maritime and River Rescue) of Uruguay with special recognition for the outstanding
work undertaken by Captain Ramón Sagüés and Engineer Otto Vicente Muzzio - Winner
Mr Roger Harris
Doolin Coast Guard Unit
Mr Branko Ramesa - Finalist
Stichting Opsporing Apparatuur Drenkelingen

For more about the H.E.R.O. Awards 2017 and to nominate for the H.E.R.O. Awards 2018, go to www.imrfhero.org..

Latest News

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

The Sponsors & Host of IMRF Awards 2018​

Redningsselskapet Logowhite     Orolia WHITE      HammerWhite     inmarsat1White   Swede Ship1WHITE edited 1    

Norwegian Society for Sea Rescue

Host of the

IMRF Awards 2018 & IMRF Full Members

Orolia Maritime

Lead Sponsor of the

IMRF Awards 2018 &
of the Team Award 2018 (new window)

CM Hammar

Sponsor of the

Individual Award 2018 (new window)


Sponsor of the

Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 (new window)

Swede Ship Marine

Sponsor of the

IMRF Awards Dinner


PoleStar logoCYMK300dpiWhite   NSOF farge rund   logo eng br1white   13 DNMF logo eng medring 2Witelts edited 1    HP logo farge breddeformat 2012 cleanWHITE edited 1 Navigate1White  

Pole Star

Sponsor of the

Innovation & Technology IMRF Award (new window)


NSOF Norsk Sjooffisersforbund  

Sponsors of 

Local Hero Award (new window)

Norwegian Seafarers Union  

Sponsors of the

Local Hero Award (new window)

Norwegian Union of Marine Engineers

Sponsors of the

Local Hero Award (new window)


Hansen Protection

Sponsors of  the

Local Hero Award (new window)


Navigate PR

Sponsors of 

People's Choice Award (new window)


For more information about our Sponsors and Host, visit The 2018 Sponsors & Host page.

Want to become a Sponsor, check out our "Call for Sponsors" page.

Translate this Website


Contact Info -

International Maritime Rescue Federation
IMRF Awards
50 Allardice Street
AB39 2RA
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0) 1569 767405

E-mail:  imrfawards@imrf.org.uk

Important Pages


IMRF Bookshop (new window)


Become a Member (new window)



Members Log In

Members can log in here. Have you forgotten your username/password? E-mail us at info@imrf.org.uk for resetting your password. Or use the "Forgot Login?" function below.